Love at First Site //
you're reading...
Love At First Site

Demo Days

When some people are angry they break stuff.  When I’m angry, I storm off to the bedroom, and slam the door – but the truth is, it’s really just an excuse to take a nap.

So, it’s fair to say that it really isn’t my nature to break things.  But since Bunker Hill had been cleared out (everything was officially donated, trashed, scrapped or sold), the next step was the demo.

It’s amazing how fast the demo goes — within 8 hours over two days, our house was a blank slate:

  • the kitchen cabinets and floors were gone
  • the upstairs bathroom was gutted, and the built in cabinet was placed in the living room for painting
  • the wallpaper was removed
  • all of the rotted sheetrock had been cut out

The tools we used to get the demo done included: a hammer, sledge hammer, screwdriver, crowbar, sawzall, sheetrock knife and wall paper removing solution.

Charlie and I were pretty pleased with the results — even she smiled for the picture:

One important thing to note is that while we were clearing out the house we got the permit for the roof and had it replaced.  This way we ensured that all of the interior improvements wouldn’t be ruined by a leaking roof.

About LoveAtFirstSite

Some people love dogs, some people love cars, but not me. I love dirt. I'm pretty sure it's not the first thing you think when you see me, but it's true--I really love dirt. Although, I'm picky about where my dirt comes from. Construction sites are perfect, backyards are OK, but the streets of NYC not so much. So now that you know that I love dirt, you may want to know why. I've been on and off construction sites since I was little. And here's a picture to prove it. I recently quit my public relations job in NYC in the pursuit of cleaner dirt. I love home renovations and remodeling, and I've been working closely with my dad who has been in the business for 40 plus years to learn everything I can. I’m also a full-time residential real estate agent in the Greater Fairfield area. I’m dragging my fiancé, Neil, along for the ride too. For those of you who know us, thanks for reading. And for those of you who don’t, welcome to our house flipping, home remodeling, suburbanite lives! Alana Brier | Newtown, CT | 203.304.4235 |

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Demo Days

  1. Didn’t you find any money hidden in the walls? Or a body like you see on CSI.

    Posted by Bob | March 28, 2012, 9:55 am

Leave a Reply

